And now for a little more complicated art…


For many years I’ve been painting trying to make my watercolor paintings look like oil paintings, never having learned oil and always feeling kind of intimidated by it. I finally decided to take an oil painting class last year and just this past Sunday, completed my first oil painting, a portrait of my friend Lexa’s cat. His name is “Pasha”. It turned out that oil painting is a LOT easier than watercolor and takes a lot less time! This took me about 25 hours where a watercolor the same size and look would take me at least 40. Needless to say, I’m fully converted to oil paints now and can’t wait to do my next portrait!

Image

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

